Shirataki Noodles! Day 15 of Dukan diet

Day 15 (13 Feb 12) Cruise phase Day 11 (PV day) <= supposed to be PP but we cheated. 

Weight: 61.9kg

Weight loss from yesterday: -600g

Total weight loss to date: 3.7kg

Haha. as expected. I put on quite a bit of weight after that silly binge on Sunday. All the empty carbs from beer! And it wasn’t even good beer! BOO 😦 next year, turnip 1 and i will definitely be trying to smuggle in some brothers cider. yay festie experience!!! i wonder if they sell brothers in the US so we can have it at coachella. hmmm.

Okay okay, this is a diet blog, not a beer binge blog. :/

Breakfast: Yogurt with oat bran

Lunch: Grilled seafood with sickly sweet gloop at Osaka Town. ugh. Just check out their scores on HGW. At least I didn’t exactly cheat. Although I swear the sauce was full of MSG and crap so it probably didn’t do my any favours.

Pre-dinner snack: Supermarket sashimi! 😀 (To be elaborated on)

Dinner: “Spaghetti” Bolognese with Shirataki Noodles

Okay this will be a long one. So obviously I’ve been obsessing over this diet, and given that I’m the biggest carb fan, I was trying to find ways of eating some sort of rice/noodles etc. and I found out that Shirataki noodles, otherwise known as the Miracle Noodle, is allowed on the dukan diet! WOOHOOO! so obviously, I dragged Turnip 1 down to the Japanese supermarket, Meidi-ya, to get some. (Plus I need ZERO excuses to go down to Meidi-ya. It’s my favourite supermarket!!! 😀 oh and we bought (full-fat) Yeo Valley yogurt when we were there. It was gobbled up pretty quickly (I can’t remember when, or rather I don’t want to remember that i was cheating. But it was worth it! YUM!))

Anyway, back to the noodles. A week later, the four packs of noodles still sit forlornly in the fridge, untouched. Boo. It’s mostly just that making soup noodles requires effort and lots of ingredients and Turnip 1 isn’t a fan of soup-y things. Except ramen. Which is super tasty mostly because of the melted pork in the soup base. Anything fatty is tasty. And I digress.

So obviously we get the brilliant idea to make bolognese!! Another trip to Meidi-ya beckoned to get the necessary (minced beef really. but we bought a load of other crap as well, including chicken legs) And given that this was a work day, and getting ingredients at 7pm on Monday means eating only at 9 or 10pm, I bought crap loads of sashimi to eat as well (discounted cos it was late. score!). Yummy.

Before the trip to Meidi-ya, I did even more research on Shirataki Noodles, and found the following:

Recipe book from Miracle noodle

More recipes from Recipes I Love

How to prepare them (by Chowhounders) etc

So I felt like a veteran even before I begin. Ha. People seems to not like the texture, the smell (requires A LOT of rinsing apparently) etc etc, so I was naturally apprehensive. Most of them also said it doesn’t taste good with Italian-y type dishes, but better as an Asian type dish. Oh wells.

Thankfully, our fears are unfounded. The bolognese was DELISH and it went well with the Shirataki noodles, which were super easy to prepare. And yes, the Shirataki noodles did have a smell when you opened the pack, but to me, it mostly smelt like fishballs, which isn’t a bad smell at all. Oh and just for kicks, a picture of bar chor mee, with fish balls (oh I miss you so 😦 ) oh crap. no fishballs. I just wanted an excuse to put pictures of nice food on this.

Tai Wah Bak Chor Mee. I will have you again soon...

Back to dinner!!!!

How to prepare Shirataki noodles as Spaghetti:

1. Open the packet and drain the liquid.

2. Wash it thoroughly under cold water, rinsing it of its fishy smell.

3. Boil in hot water for a few minutes! Done!

The texture is similar to Asian rice noodles, and it reminded me of tang hoon. Best part is: you can’t overcook it! Plus, it remains super tasty after it’s gone cold.

But let me share some pictures, and then I can move on to the proper recipe. We had a seriously good dinner that night. I am so loving this diet. How can a diet be so painless and tasty?

Looks good huh? Trust me it was tasty!

And this is the final result. It was so tasty I didn’t stop to take pictures until I was halfway through the meal.

With the noodles!

So here’s the recipe:

“Low-carb” Spaghetti Bolognese (kinda. there was alcohol in it, plus we put our own spin to it)

Ingredients (these are approximate. i don’t tend to measure things out):

300g of lean minced beef

2 chicken legs, with fat removed. Remove the skin but save it!

2 cans of chopped tomatoes

1 tbsp of tomato puree

2 onions

3 cloves of garlic (I think we used almost a whole bulb cos we like scaring off vampires)

Other seasoning: We used parsley (I think) and some other mixed herbs

Lots of pepper and a pinch of salt

Generous pour of red wine

1. Prepare the chicken legs. Skin them, and save the skin. Remove all the fats. Remove all the meat from the bone and chop into as small pieces as you can, until it’s practically minced. Chop up the chicken skin separately.

2. Chop onions, chop garlic.

3. Warm a wok, and once it’s hot, put the chopped up chicken skin in. This will serve as the “oil”

4. Add onions and fry until semi-soft.

5. Add the garlic and fry, be careful not to burn it.

6. After about a minute, add the chopped up chicken legs.

7. When it’s slightly cooked, add the minced beef and brown it. By now, the dish should smell pretty damn awesome.

8. Once the meats are about 70% cooked (just guesstimate!), add the chopped tomatoes, and tomato puree. Season with lots of pepper and a pinch of salt. Add other seasoning like Italian herbs etc.

9. Add your dash of wine. Be generous 😛

10. Allow it to simmer, stirring, occasionally. When the liquid has reduced to half the amount, time to prep the noodles! (see above) Oh yes, and add another gloop of wine. Make sure you taste the sauce to make sure it is to your liking. If not, add tomato puree/salt/pepper/more seasoning to your liking.

11. Until the mixture has reached desired texture/wetness/dryness, turn off the heat and serve on top of the boiled Shirataki noodles! Total simmering time will usually take at least 20 minutes. Do it at a low-ish heat so all the flavours get to blend in.

And that was spaghetti bolognese Dukan style! YUMMY. And somehow the chicken is very unconventional (we would have used a bit of veal as well if we could find it. and some pork if we were allowed) but I think it added to the flavour.  AND it was good even the next day. I brought the leftovers to work. mmm 🙂

Hope you enjoyed this post even though it’s really long :S

Leave a comment